Class 10 – Tawheed – Pillars of Imaan

Class 10

‘Tawheed – Pillars of Imaan’


The Six Pillars of Iman, also known as the articles of faith, are a portion of the foundation in which a Muslim’s beliefs stand on. These pillars are very important and hold heavy weight on the Day of Judgement.

1. Belief in Allah.

The first Pillar of Iman is the belief in the All-Powerful, Most Beneficent. Believing in Allah, above all else is the first and most important pillar. It is not only belief in Allah alone but in the way He is described through the Qu’ran and the sayings of Prophet Muhammad (Hadits). This includes all 99 names that describe Allah.

2. Belief in Al-Malaa’ika (The Angels).

The second Pillar of Iman is the belief in Allah’s angels. The angels are messengers of Allah. They were created from light and were created, before humans, for the purpose of worshipping Allah. Al-malaikah the angels, the names and the-responsibilities.

Below are the names and functions of the 10 leading Angels (alayhum salam).

  • Jibril: To deliver the Divine Revelations from Allah (Subhanahu wa Ta’ala) to His chosen Messengers from among the prophets (alayhum salam).
  • Mikail: To manage man’s mundane necessities, bring forth rain and oversee the cultivation of crops.
  • Israfil: To blow the Trumpet: once, for the destruction of the universe; and again, for the Resurrection of all accountable beings to face Judgment Day.
  • Malik Al Maut: Angel of Death, the most fearsome of them all, who does not delay nor expedite the hour of claiming the soul.
  • Maalik: Guardian of Jahannum (Hell-fire), an unwelcome sight, for the unfortunate and wretched dwellers of the eternal fire.
  • Ridwan: Guardian of Paradise, who welcomes the Prophets (alayhum salam) and the righteous who have been blessed by Allah (Subhanahu wa Ta’ala).
  • Munkar : To question the dead on issues relating to his/her God, prophet Salla Allahu ta’ala ‘alayhi wa Sallam, religion, belief, deeds, etc. Questioning in the grave.
  • Nankir: To question the dead on issues relating to his/her God, prophet Salla Allahu ta’ala ‘alayhi wa Sallam, religion, belief, deeds, etc.
  • Raqib: Sits on man’s right shoulder to record his/her good deeds.
  • Atid: Sits on man’s left shoulder to record his/her evil deeds.

Together Raqib & Atid are called the Kirama Katibeen.

3. Belief in Al Kitab (The books of Allah)

The third Pillar of Iman is the belief in the books of Allah. Here it is the belief that at the time when these books were sent down, they truly were a message from Allah. The only book left is the Qur’an in its entirety, because it is the last revelation Allah will send to us. There are four books known to man:

  • The Taurah sent with the Prophet Musa (Moses),
  • The Zabur sent with the Prophet Dawud (David),
  • The Injil sent with Prophet Isa (Jesus) and
  • The Qur’an sent with Prophet Muhammad.

We as Muslims are to believe in all of these books and not just the Qur’an.

4. Belief in the prophets, prayers and salutations of Allah be upon them (the Messengers of Allah).

The fourth Pillar of Iman is the belief in Allah’s Messengers. There are twenty-five (25) Prophets mentioned in the Qur’an. Prophet Muhammad SAW is the last and final Prophet. Prayers and salutations of Allah be upon him and upon all the messengers of Allah. Below are the names of 25 Prophets mentioned in the Qur’an in Arabic and English.

  1. Adam as (Adam) آدم
  2. Idris as (Enoch) إدر يس
  3. Nuh as (Noah) نوح
  4. Hud as (Hud) هود
  5. Saleh as (Shaleh) صالح
  6. Ibrahim as (Abraham) إبراهيم
  7. Lut as (Lot) لوط
  8. Ismail as (Ishmael) إسماعيل
  9. Ishaq as (Issac) إسحاق
  10. Yaqub as (Jacob) يعقوب
  11. Yusuf as (Joseph) يوسف
  12. Ayyub as (Job) أيوب
  13. Shu’aib as (Jethro) شعيب
  14. Musa as (Moses) موسى
  15. Harun as (Aaron) هارون
  16. Dzulkifli as (Ezekiel) ذو الكفل
  17. Dawud as (David) داود
  18. Sulaiman as (Soloman) سليمان
  19. Ilyas as (Elijah) إلياس
  20. Alyas’a as (Elisha) اليسع
  21. Yunus as (Jonah) يونس
  22. Zakaria as (Zachariah) زكريا
  23. Yahya as (John) يحيى
  24. Isa as (Jesus) عيسى
  25. Muhammad محمد

5. Belief in Yawmil Qiyaamah (Day Of Rising/The Last Day).

The fifth Pillar of Iman is the belief in the Last Day. This is the Day of accounting for all deeds; evil or good, big or small. In our lives we need to believe that all we do will have bearing on the Last Day. No one but Allah knows when this day will come, so it is up to us to live each day as if it was our last.

6. Belief in Qada and Qadar (Divine will and Decree).

The sixth Pillar of Iman is the belief in Qada and Qadar.

  • Belief in al-qada’ (the Divine will) is certain belief that everything that happens in this universe happens by the will and decree of Allah.
  • Belief in al-qadar (the Divine decree). In Saheeh Muslim it is narrated that Ibn ‘Umar (may Allaah be pleased with him) heard that some people were denying al-qadar. He said: “If I meet these people I will tell them that I have nothing to do with them and they have nothing to do with me. By the One by Whom ‘Abd-Allaah ibn ‘Umar swore, if one of them had gold equivalent to Mount Uhud and he spent it, Allaah would not accept it from him unless he believed in al-qadar”. The correct belief in al-qadar also involves believing in the following that the individual has free will by means of which he acts.

That a person’s will and ability do not operate outside the will and decree of Allaah, Who is the One Who has given him that ability and made him able to distinguish (between good and evil) and make his choice, as He says (interpretation of the meaning):“And you cannot will unless (it be) that Allaah wills the Lord of the ‘Aalameen (mankind, jinn and all that exists)” [al-Takweer 81:29]

That al-qadar is Allaah’s plan for His creation. What He has shown us of it, we know and believe in, and what He has hidden from us, we accept and believe in. We do not dispute with Allaah concerning His actions and rulings with our limited minds and comprehension, rather we believe in Allaah’s complete justice and wisdom, and that He is not to be asked about what He does, may He be glorified and praised.

These six pillars of Iman are important to all Muslims and should be held in high regard.



  1. Memorize the Pillars of Imaan.
  2. Memorize at least 10 names of the Prophets.

Memorize at 5 names of the Angels.